Hallelujah Highway

Celebrating the Journey

Why I Write~ Kristi

on June 5, 2013

This has been an interesting (almost a) year.  About a year ago, three friends and I decided to write and share them publically.  We all had dreams of being writers and we said “yes” to our dream.  It was a transformative “yes!”  We worked together to tell our stories for (almost) a half a year.  Then, it fell apart and I questioned whether I was going to continue to write.  I had to ask and answer, “Why do I write?  What are my intentions?”

Because writing is a sacred act. 

Before I write a piece, serious or not, I pray.  I let myself move out of my head and I write what is on my heart, my blank paper on which God inscribes; thus, my writings are co-creations with God.  God shows up every time I write, and I have decided as long as God shows up, I will write.

Olsteen

Because truth is fluid. 

Truth changes… and transforms… and moves… and evolves… and expresses itself in diverse ways.  Writing forced me to reconcile the differences in truth among my writings and others.  Did we have to agree?  Did I need to write to prove my truth was more correct?  Could two (or more) truths co-exist?  Simply, I allow authors to have their own truth. I allow myself to have my truth, which may shift from moment-to-moment because I am changing… and transforming… and moving… and evolving… and expressing myself in diverse ways.

Truth

Because truth transforms. 

Truth transforms the writer.  Writing has been deep, compassionate listening to the currents of energy that form my life.  Sometimes the energetic currents are soft and graceful; sometimes they are tumultuous and laborious; and sometimes they are something in between.  Writing has given these currents a voice.  It is healing to see my evolutionary process from a new perspective.

Truth transforms the reader to which it resonates.  I have learned so much from the truths of other writers.  I have dedicated my life to reading and teaching a writer’s truth.  Not every piece of writing resonates with every reader; just because a piece of writing doesn’t resonate with one person, doesn’t mean it won’t impact another.

I used to start every yoga class off by saying, “Take what you need… leave the rest behind.”  This has become my mantra for reading others’ writing and it’s the grace I seek from my readers.

 Take What You Need

Because stories teach and unify. 

As I read different stories, I get an opportunity to see my perception of humanity reflected in the author’s writing.  Sometimes, the writing and I share an intimate bond of commonality; sometimes, we don’t.  I have learned the writer can control one thing—how the story is presented.  The author has no control over the meaning the reader gives the piece.

Therefore, writing has become an act of surrender and trust.  I surrender to my truth and the writing process.  I trust the reader to create his or her meaning based on his or her perceptions of humanity and life experiences.  His or her reaction to my writing is a reflection of the meaning he or she assigns to my writing—not me.

Yet, criticism is a part of writing and I had to examine how I would respond to criticism.   I have already experienced core-rocking, soul-splitting criticism and I know I can survive the unloving acts of judgmental criticism.  I allow others to have their interpretations of me.  I cannot be perfect or please everyone, nor do I want to try.  I choose to still love people who criticize me, but I will not allow them to be my teachers.

Criticism

Perfect

Because writing is an act of vulnerability and courage.

I want to be a vulnerable and authentic writer—an act of extreme courage.  I am brave enough to know that despite my imperfections, my best work and I are enough.  Writing requires me to love myself enough to own my stories without fear of judgment or criticism.  It is a process of letting go of the constructs of my identity and knowing there are parts of my story to which others will relate.  In these moments of relation, we unify the world.  We make the world a better place by sharing love and respect.

ownjourney

Because writing forms a community that forms who I am.

By empowering myself to write, I empower other writers to share their story.  Writing starts these soul-inspiring conversations among people.  These conversations, written or oral, teach me about the brutality and the beautifulness of life.  They demonstrate the resiliency of human spirit.  They give me words when I don’t have them.  Each piece of writing forms who I am and becomes a part of my essence.

 My Wish

This is why I write.


2 responses to “Why I Write~ Kristi

  1. […] Why I Write~ Kristi (hallelujahhighway.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] 1.) I think rawness in writing shows vulnerability, and as Dr. Bene Brown writes in Daring Greatly, “Vulnerability is the birthplace of love, belonging, joy, courage, empathy, and creativity.  It is the source of hope empathy, accountability, and authenticity.” (34)  (Ya’ll, that is why I write!) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

