Hallelujah Highway

Celebrating the Journey

Friday Freakout ~ All of Us!

on February 1, 2013

facebook_1146908114

Rae

~ The song “Thrift Song” is awesome: no curse words, no demeaning of women, and no violence; only a celebration of being wise with money and a catchy beat.

~The word awesome is overused–let’s replace it with RAD. Hey–80s fashion is back, so let’s bring back the lingo too.

~ The word “cluster” in the new Common Core Standards for education is a big mistake. English teachers can place multiple meanings on that word and then the discussion of the standards becomes a–well–cluster….

~ I took away my youngest daughter’s TV this week for lying to me repeatedly. Judging by her reaction, her world is over. 

~ My inspiration for this week:  “The problem is not the problem; the problem is your attitude about the problem.” Captain Jack Sparrow

Jen

~ I was slow to clean up a spill on the floor yesterday. So the baby did it. With her mouth.

~ Restricting or banning weapons designed only to kill in massive amounts and as quickly as possible—and owned only by people with questionable mental health—does not threaten anyone’s right to bear arms. Quit your whining.

~ I finished the 15th and final book of the Wheel of Time series. It broke my heart to say goodbye to these characters who have been my companions for 19 months and almost 12,000 pages.

~ My inspiration this week, as I turn 41: “With mirth and laughter let old wrinkles come.” –William Shakespeare, Merchant of Venice. My birthday wish: to wage a war against my laugh lines that I never win!

Kristi

~ Too many of my students have f-ed up life situations and I can’t do anything about it.  I want to scream from the top of the world, “Parents, handle your responsibilities!  You DO NOT have the right to mess up your babies.” 

~ Girls need hugs.  Hugs make the stress of the world better even if it is just for a second.      

~  With chocolate’s help and channeling my inner-Dory (from Finding Nemo),  I “Just keep swimming.  Just keep swimming.”  It’s been one of those weeks. 

 Dana 

~ My 11 week old baby slept for 7 straight hours last night.  If this trend continues, I might have the energy to run for President.  But I’ll probably settle for maybe showering before noon.

~Advice:  When you open the back door in the morning for a bit of fresh air, make sure you’ve already turned the alarm off.  I might have just peed myself.

~Can someone please tell me how the Lakers have a losing record when they have so many talented players on their team?  Regardless of who is coaching, this is ridiculous.

~I had another wonderful nugget, but I had to nurse my baby, change a couple of diapers, answer the telephone, and now a cabinet repairman is here. Sigh… 


Leave a Reply

